Waldon here! I'm just hanging around, waiting to get tired so I can go to bed :p so I figured I'd tell you about something that happened at work tonight.

The title says "library blues," they weren't particularly MY blues, but I was there :p You see, this evening two older women came in to use the photocopier. During said time, I was behind the counter, trying to mind my own business.

The taller lady who came in was complaining about EVERYTHING. First, that her coffee was too cold, then that it's too warm out, then that the wind was too cold and she was chilly.

By now, both I and the other lady just wanted to ignore her, but it was difficult when she wouldn't stop talking :p Then she started ranting about cell phones, and texting, and then what people say during texts.

Here's the part that actually made me stop and think about what she was saying.

She said that nobody ever says "I'm sorry" to her face anymore, and that it's always over a text, if the apology was to her face they would always say "it's alright," or "don't worry about it," instead. And honest to god, I think she's right.

So, I was trying to think about why that was, and I could only come up with one answer; that technology is making us less able to handle actual interaction. Unfortunately.

Believe me, I've spent enough time on Xbox live to know ALL about people who don't say sorry. Or please. Or anything remotely decent. XD (here's looking at you, kid-who-acts-like-a-jerk-but-sounds-like-an-8-year-old, who somehow shows up in every match. Civility is a lot more respected than rudeness.) :p

So, in the spirit of really disliking people who hate indiscriminately, I propose a challenge!

To anybody who reads this, make sure you say "I'm sorry" face to face, to anybody you're about to say you're sorry to over a text! There's also nothing wrong with saying you're sorry for things that happened before this challenge. It might just mean a lot to somebody.

I know I like hearing apologies. That little sadist in me enjoys it. :p

Although, I won't get into my personal texting hatreds (that would take all evening lol xD texting is too short to send enough emotions, basically. :p) I'll send you on your way with a reminder!

There IS another person on the end of your phone! Treat them well!

Or else I'm going to have to listen to a cranky lady complain for half an hour again.

Please don't do that to me. O.O

Good night all! :p
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.