That came to me while I was doing my History project last month. We had to look up pictures of historical figures, and when I saw Vlad Lenin, I immediately thought of my Dad. It isn’t exact, but it’s a striking similarity. I was amazed. I’m fairly certain it’s the mustache...

(*Phone conversation with Ryan!*)

I just stopped writing this for an hour to talk to Ryan on the phone. He needed help with his Math assignment, and it’s due tomorrow, so he really needs to get it done. I think he’s going to finish it off tonight or finish it in school tomorrow. I hope he understands it now! We ended up talking about the Math assignment for about 40 minutes or so, then talking about everything else for 20 minutes. That happens every time we get talking. I love it! He’s so much fun to talk to because he’ll randomly say what’s on his mind, then we’ll talk about whatever he said. Junior’s kind of like that too. That’s probably why I love talking to them both so much?

While on topic of school, we got our Chem test results back today. Mr. Rumbolt didn’t seem too happy with them. The class average was *dun dun duuuun* 56%. (Although, I got 93. Only three people got above 90%). Not good atall, b’ys. Mr. Rumbolt explained what he did with the test, how the multiple choice were all fair, and how the long answers were very difficult but we should have been able to do them. When people began to complain that he hadn’t taught us the material and that he didn’t give us any practice problems (which he did, I do believe. I think I have them written down in my book), he made a few valid points. He gave us a study period on Friday, with which nobody took the opportunity to ask him ANY questions. Also in this study period, nobody bothered to ask him anything about the test. ALSO IN THAT PERIOD, nobody asked him for practice problems to do. Unless I am mistake, he did once give us problems to try from the book, but that could have been for something else.

Now, I don’t like voicing my opinion, but here I feel almost obliged to help out the poor guy. I think, in a way, Mr. Rumbolt was right to make a difficult test. For one, it’s a public exam course (I think it’s our equivalent of SATs) and it’s supposed to be difficult. The provincial average is usually in the seventies (according to Ms. Shortt) because of defactoring, etc. If the public mark is way above the school mark, then the public was either too easy or the teachers in that course marked really hard. If the public mark was much lower than the school mark, then the teachers are assumed to be slack. Anywho, I THINK that’s how it works. I don’t fully understand it.

Secondly, his job as a teacher is to prepare us for what is to come. Our teachers are always telling us how difficult university is and how hard we’ll have to work to maintain a passing grade. We, as students, can’t truly expect them to hold our hands and baby us through high school to prepare us for university, and life in general. We’re going to be on our own in university. We aren’t going to have someone there telling us what to do and how to do it all the time. We have to figure things out on our own, and think outside the box. If we can’t do that, what can we do?

The test that Mr. Rumbolt gave, yes, it was hard, but it was all out of the box thinking. He DID teach us what was on the test. Instead of giving us a formula, we had to find it. Instead of getting us to use a simple calculation to find a straightforward answer, he got us to use our brains - you know, that squishy thing inside our skull? - to find a more obscure answer. He didn’t go over the exact problem in class, but he did show us the basics. In teaching us how to work forward, he indirectly taught us how to work backward. If you can multiply, you can divide.

Well... This was much longer than I had expected. I apologize for my rant supporting Mr. Rumbolt. Too bad he won’t see it.. I think he needs a bit of moral support sometimes, just like all of us. Now, good night to all of you.

- Bre :)




Leave a Reply.