Waldon here. Guess what? I forgot to plug my truck back in after driving Bre home. So, between the end of the title and my name, I walked outdoors (It's -15 C outside right now) and plugged in my truck. I'm cold now. Darn.

I have a problem. I have an addiction. They say that the first step to getting rid of your addiction is to accept that you have it. I KNOW I have it. I've had it for years, it's something that I don't think I'll ever be able to reclaim my time from. I've spent so long now under it's influence, that with my first batch that I bought, I lasted nearly 300 hours or more just staring blankly, listlessly at a television on the "Video" screen.

I had been clean for nearly a year. I had only picked it up once or twice during the entire 2010 year. . . I had always put that cursed box down and walked away. It's like some mind fogging beast that waits in the dark for me to stray off the beaten path. I spent all of my time working and exercising to get my mind off of it. Anything, everything. I just had to stay away from home, where the temptation might get me again.

But, Christmas was my downfall. At Christmastime, I got a present several days late. They found it underneath the tree, behind the stand. I hadn't noticed it the days before. I tore open the wrapping and there it was, staring me in the face. Another box. Another temptation. I couldn't stop myself. I tore the box open and stared at that plastic container. I kept my eyes away from it. Scottie held my attention while he was there. I focused on him being there. If he wasn't there, I would have been lost in the haze one more time.

But that night, Scottie had to leave. I sat down after he had left, eyes fixed on that cursed vassal. I made a decision. The wrong decision. I opened the box and pushed the plastic in, I could almost feel the familiar sensation rushing through my veins. It was a rush! I could see another world!

Before the next day was over, I would have been under for 11 and a half hours.

I saw it happening all over again. The dark of my basement, the glow. The sun hurting my sensitive eyes after hours of post-apocalyptic utopia. But this time, I stopped myself. I stood strong and stopped myself. I focused on Bre. I focused on Scottie, on Russell, on Jessica, on Glad.

But it came to an end. There was a fresh box. A world I hadn't seen yet. A fresh world. A new glow. After 3 weeks of standing tall, of feeling the rush of beating it not once, but TWICE, I fell. Hard. Within the last 4 days, I've put 22 hours of plastic glow into myself. Do you know what this beast is? What, exactly, I've fallen prey to?

Fallout New Vegas. You thought I was on drugs, didn't you? :P

I'm not that stupid. I'm just stupid enough to spend a good portion of my life playing video games. Thank god Bre and they are all there to drag me out of that stuff. xD

Anyway, after that monologue, I think I'm going to sleep. Good night all. :P
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.