Waldon here, Bre is tired so I'm filling in. The title tonight comes from what I was doing earlier today. I was scanning through some contemporary philosophic texts (which I'm sure many of you noticed I have a love for) and I instead noticed that many of them revolve around the same basic principle: There is always a government that has to be shown it's place because the only thing that is good for you is your fellow repressed peoples... because the government is obviously out to get you and repress you. Does anybody realize that without the government we have now we'd have no health care, no policing or military force or even roads and transportation?

I personally believe that everything ultimately is trying to do good, with exceptions are a few blighted spots on the whole, which people follow because they're afraid. It's widely "known" that the world is becoming a horrible place filled with suffering. Guess what? North America is going through one of the lowest rates of fatal crime ever recorded. There is a high number of small crimes, but serious crimes are decreasing. Evil is almost nonexistent, but compliance is inbred into our species. This misconception that people are bad is leading us all to do what we're told is easier. We do wrong, because right is easily forgotten when it's harder to follow the right way. It's easier to just ignore suffering, or break the law, or do unsafe things when everybody else does those same things too. But when somebody takes a stand, others stop. They see. They help people too, because other people are doing it. This includes the government. There are many more government officials who are just like the rest of us, than there are officials that are trying to make life difficult for everybody because of some vague sadistic ideal. The government is seen as some enigmatic dogma that is overseeing everybody with an iron fist.

The government is trying to help us. It's not out for it's own gain. The government prospers when the country prospers. Just try and remember, all you wannabe idealist philosophers, that the government is made of people too. It's not just a bunch of all-powerful corrupt politicians that control everything. It's thousands of hardworking men and women who just want to do their jobs.

So, now. Onto my day!

This afternoon, Bre, Britt and I went out in truck to go to Tim's. Sadly, Tim's was blocked. So we instead went for a drive around town. I took them up to the store uptown, and we chilled out in there for a while while they talked to their step-mom. I think she's their step-mom? I'm sorry! I don't remember! Please don't be too angry. O.o They bought some chocolate, and off we went.

We then went down to Bre's house in downtown and picked up some stuff, and then I took Bre to the bank so she could put a check in. Then we went to Pizza delight and got some dessert. :)

I took everybody home, and we all had supper. Or maybe not. Maybe it was just me. Yeah, I think I was the only one who actually had supper. :S Anyways... afterwords, Bre came over and we hung out all night. We talked and she cheered me up. I was feeling pretty down since suppertime. She's the greatest. :) I don't tell her how much I like her often enough. ;) :P

Then Bre and I drove over to pick up her sister, and I dropped them both home. I've been texting Bre since she and I got back to our respective homes, and reading about the Stanford Prison Experiment. Interesting read, seriously good.

Now, I figure I've got nothing left to talk about, so...
Good night all!
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.