Yesterday night, I spent some time reflecting on everything that I've been blessed with in my life. I gave thanks to whatever deity or spirit governs us all. One thing that the oncoming cold of winter made me give particular thanks to, was the blessing of shelter and warmth. So many of us don't realize how lucky we are to be inside and warm, away from the bitter cold outside. Humans as a whole do that. We see winter as a season of beauty and serenity where the snow buries everything under it's pristine white. But what about the animals that live in the snow? They don't have anything to keep them warm besides themselves. The winter to them is just one long period of suffering and hunger. Thinking about this allowed me to reflect and thank everything and everybody that gave me the gift of warmth and food for this cold, spartan, desolate season.

So, of course. This brought to mind the people who don't HAVE a place to live. The homeless people across the country that don't have a home to come to this season. They don't have a loving family to welcome them. As distant as I am from my family, and despite never actually HEARING it, I know that my family loves me. There are people across North America right now that are scrounging for their clothes and food in the cold. I want to help them. Of course, just this evening, my mother handed me a hat with a small symbol on it. The profits from that hat will go to supporting the homeless. I know that it won't make much of a difference, but at least it helps, right?

I've been working on new art styles and concepts to try out lately. One of these is taking an animal and merging myself, in a similar position to the animal, with it. I picked a gorilla screaming. I don't know what to think, because when I laid the image of my face over the gorilla face, I didn't have to change any of the lines. Should I brag about that?

Anyways, I've done my part for this evening. Good night everybody!
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.