Waldon here. I just got some food. It was pretty good food too. Peanut butter cookies and some odd rice krispies-raisins-marshmallow-chocolate concoction. So... Aside from my small feast, I've got some other things to talk about, I suppose. Although not much of it is more interesting.

Today was both Bre and I's first day back to school (Regrettably). Bre and I have such opposing views on school. It's ludicrous. Bre loves school. She's the smart one of us. She loves math, she's doing chemistry and a bunch of other subjects... in french. She's English. Do you understand the implications of that? Not only is her average about 10 points higher than my own average in the things she thinks she's having trouble with, those troublesome courses are also in French. It's like a huge statistical hammer coming down on my grades with the might of some calculator god.

I think it's obvious that I don't like school. I much prefer to be outside and in nature somewhere. I love animals, trees, plants, ecosystems... all of it. Not in a textbook either. I want to see what I'm learning about. Don't get me wrong, I'm not some musclebound idiot. I understand musculature and bone structure from viewing an animal. I have an intimate understanding of the human body- how the muscles connect, the tension in joints, the physics inherent in everything down to movement. . . I just don't like being restrained by some brick walls with a bunch of identically dressed, hormone crazy adolescents who haven't learned that laughing obnoxiously loud and making noises like cars while people are trying to teach you isn't funny. I like being with maybe one or two people at a time to learn, especially if I'm in the woods. I can't learn from textbooks, I have to learn through experience. It's one of my dreams to take some of my friends out into the woods with me sometime so that I can show them how beautiful it is just walking through some old forgotten footpaths from the annals of history, or hiking over a deer trail with your dog by your heels.

Well, rant over, we went back to school today. We started our new term with a math class, first thing. Wonderful. But, after that the day went by pretty fast. I had Nutrition, Art, Skilled Trades and History, in that order, afterwords. I spent lunch in the Math Help Center with Bre, Sandra, Robyn and Vanessa. I was reading for a good portion of that.

After school I had my first theatre practice of the term. I'm playing Horatio in Hamlette. Yeah, I spelled that right. Figure it out. We read through the script once, and made a few notes. Took us an hour and a half. It'll be a good play, although we're going to have to tighten it up a bit. It should be about half an hour or so when we get it all done.

So, now that I'm done putting up the details of my personal life for people to gawk over, I think I'm going to go back to talking to Bre on msn. Much more rewarding than typing into a box that doesn't talk back. Eh tu, Blog?

So, Good night!
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.