Waldon here, and I'm, again, offering my most sincere of apologies for missing another update. >.<

Yeah, so I've got a hospital appointment tomorrow at 2 30, and another on Tuesday at 9 30. Its going to be a bad two days for classwork. :S

So, what are you all up to? Cause all I'm doing is listening to music. :P Thank god for music. Did you know that there are theories starting to circulate now after a dormancy of a long, long period of time (the time of Charles Darwin) that humans used music before they used language? That music is how we used to communicate and pass on information, akin to how a bee dances to show where resources are found. Music, as Darwin saw it (if I'm understanding correctly) was a way for humans to gauge our sexual attraction to each other. As closely liked things like music and dance tend to be, they tend to be central to each other and good health. In order to dance, you must be fit, in order to play music or sing you must be dextrous and skillful. All of which are desirable traits in a human being. Playing a guitar or keeping a beat on the most primitive of instruments, i.e. a drum, creates a bond, a connection.

But, that isn't to say that if you listen to a man sing or a male player making beautiful sounds, as a man, that you are attracted to him. It might just be our instincts bonding us together on a primitive level. If we used to use it to communicate between bands and tribes of humans, could that not have carried through our genes? A sort of selective audio trigger for survival? If the human who sung well was fitter and we see the singer showing camaraderie, doesn't that mean that we're more likely to survive?

We now see music as commonplace, but before we had anything to record music on the only places we could have heard a piece of music or song was from a live player. Most people couldn't afford that regularly. Church provided this, and we all bonded over our mutual affection of the sound of music and their belief in a superior being.

Doesn't this still serve the same purpose? When we listen to a song which we can relate to our own lives or scenarios we've lived, when we hear a song about a God that some revere, we tend to empathize and associate ourselves with the singer and band. It creates a connection with them. So our bodies may just be reacting to music as a positive force, symbolizing our connection to each other. We get positive feelings from a song reinforcing our own ideas and emotions which in turn makes us feel like we're part of a larger whole.

I believe I've talked about this very thing before. How many of the people who read this have ever been to a concert where the band goes out of it's way to speak to the audience? I'll use hard rock and heavy metal now because I'm most familiar with it, but I'm sure they're not the only genres with this feeling. When you're part of a great crowd and you're all singing along with the band screaming out their emblazoned ideas alongside them, which knowing metal and rock is generally about unfairness and breaking oppression, you feel like you understand and being in a crowd of that size brings out the base emotions. In other words, a Mob Mentality.

But this isn't a violent state contrary to popular belief, it's a passionate one. Like feeling part of a greater whole like in church or within a group of friends singing together around a stereo on a car trip. Take the song "Die for Metal" by Manowar as an example of this very thing. Listen to it before reading on if you want, you might understand what I'm trying to convey.

The point that I'm trying to make with this long diatribe is that music is a part of us. An essential part of human culture and survival. It allows us to connect with each other, it allows us to talk to each other and comfort each other. Music, dancing, singing, moving, this is life.

I'm afraid I'm not very good at this whole "Explaining Theorem" thing. :P

I mean, if I was, I'd start talking about how music translated over into literature... which doesn't even have a defined defi

Anyways. I worked on my math today! :D I got Part A of my math assignment finished, thanks to Bre. :) <3 Thank god too. I had no idea what I was doing wrong with most of it. >.< I spent most of the afternoon at her house with her, and I think I got more done there than I did all week on my own. :P

So, Back to school tomorrow morning. I suppose I'll try not to bore you all again sometime soon? :P Good night all!
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.