So this is Waldon here and I've officially spent over 10 hours on a math assignment this weekend. My day's were spent staring at a bunch of white paper and a calculator trying to make the right answers come out. It didn't work.

But I want to forget about that.

I spent a few hours tonight perusing the boards at Something Awful- and an old topic caught my interest. It was dedicated to the creation of pictures and stories based around the paranormal. None of it was real of course, that was the point of the whole board.

But regardless of me knowing that, I still fell prey to the creepiness that the board had to offer in one particular regard;

"The Slender Man"

A creation of pure terror, in my opinion. I knew for a fact what was creepy about it, how it was made, who made it, everything. But I still caught myself a few times over the course of the night looking over my shoulder, or not looking out any windows, thinking there's nothing there, no need to look. . . whereas normally I would look, because I knew there was nothing there.

Normally, something like this wouldn't even phase me. My house seems haunted sometimes. I believe in ghosts. I know several people that can attest to some creepy stuff that happens around my house at times, most without any explanation possible. But this story the thread created actually creeps me out. :P

A tall, thin man. Who appears to have the skin of a suit wearing human man as a disguise, a thin facade instead of what he actually is: A monster. He hides in the crevice between reality and the ether. He silently stalks his victims, children, men, women, everybody. There is no way to escape him. His black holes from empty eyes that stare into your soul, freezing you in place. His face horrid- a  tree-like man that will drag you- kill you- into the dark dimensions that he takes his prey. Who knows where that is? He has branchlike arms, fingers, legs, everything about him is like some sort of stretched out shadow. You find yourself unable to run from him, you just want to walk towards him and his arms. His prey is found sometimes, on- or STUCK on- the branches of tall trees. Their insides, out.

Some kind soul posted a short story that their father wrote in his journal. Said by something that seemed like the Slender Man to the father in a dream brought to him by The Slender Man. From that story, came this;

"'When you fear me, I love you, when you cower, I draw near to protect you, I will always protect you, I will always watch you. Your blindness is my omniscience, your weakness, my omnipotence. Until the day you die. Until the day you die.' I don't hear the words, but they always stick in my head. I'm going to watch over my son. Until the day I die, until the day he dies."

This description of him, the pictures of him, all seemed to strike something in me. I loved it. It was original, it was scary. If I could, I would take every picture of him I could find, and show them to you. Albeit, the pictures show only what he LETS us see, of course.

Okay, I'll stop with this now. I'm getting carried away, and I'm not making much sense of him. If you want to read about the Slender Man, look at the links I included below.

Anyways, that's all from me. Good night, whomever reads this!

The Thread that Started it All: HERE



Leave a Reply.