Waldon here, and tonight's quote is by the delightful Amy Forsey. A girl whom is involved deeply in the towns theatre groups. She does the tech and stage management for our group, as well as the tech for most of the towns plays- along with my employer who installed and did most of the electrical and audio wiring himself in the theatre. Those two are idols to me. I'm sure I've misheard tonight's quote, but I think that it's alright because this one gives me something to think about. :P

I spent this afternoon with Bre. We met up in the lower part of town, and then walked up to my house. It was kind of chilly out. I think it was -10 degrees centigrade? It's even lower now. Anyways, I drew a few things that afternoon and like she asked, I'll have to upload a few things for you to see maybe. I don't like how they show up though. Scanners are all in league with the devil. She spent the afternoon playing Harvest Moon 64. That is one of the best games in the history of EVERYTHING.

Tonight I spent another 2 hours at the Creative Arts festival being held at the theatre in my town, and I enjoyed every minute of it. The festival is a chance for people to gather together and show their talent and their skills on stage or with the arts. Its a conglomeration and mass of artistes and art, of actor and spectator,  of musician and crowd. It's a wonderful thing to gather together with humankind and mutually appreciate the wonder that comes from some of mankind's earliest joys and triumphs- Creation.

After the shows, which consisted of two provincial plays and two musicals who are well known across the world and one of whom actually composed the score for the hit movie Titanic , I was asked to help host the coffeehouse for the troupes who came in to town. At around 9 PM I left the theatre and went to my school's multipurpose room. Once I was there, my friend Jacqueline and I led the other troupes through some games and kept them entertained for an hour or so while Mr Gibbs and Angelique ( I think that's how you spell it) led some of the rest of the actors through making an air "Band" instead of just an air guitar. Then, by 10 PM the air "bands" were done, so we all went to the school's music room and watched the groups play to "I gotta feeling" and one other song I can never remember the name of.

Then, stupidity struck.

As I was walking down the hallway, a guy I know, I'll call him Matthew W., asked for a piggyback. I of course, obliged. Then, being the IDIOT I am, I agreed to take a second guy on my back as well. Normally, that wouldn't be a problem. 350 pounds is nothing to lift on my back and legs. But of course, I had to be a cocky idiot and try to do it while wearing slippery socks on a tile floor. I lifted my leg to step, and all of my weight shifted to the left knee and foot. If I was thinking, I would have taken a smaller step. The three of us went down in a heap, and guess what I felt?

I felt four distinct cracks in my knee. I could feel them, I could hear them, I could practically SMELL them. All of the weight came down on my knee, and it ended up bending approximately 35 degrees or more to the left at the knee. Knee joints are not supposed to move in any direction but forwards and backwards. So of course this damaged a few tendons (Or something similar, I'm not a doctor.) and my knee was flopping all over the place.

I limped back to the multipurpose room, sat down, took a few deep breaths, moved my knee back into place with my hands and weight, and then finished hosting. I then proceeded to walk home after helping clean up. I'm a tough guy. I'm made to take the damage. As Bre described me; I'm a "Brick Outhouse." Of course, the word wasn't actually outhouse, but this is a family friendly blog. I'm going to feel it in the morning.

If I ever hear of ANY of you trying something stupid like what I did, I will personally beat some sense into you. Don't do it.

Anyways, I'm off.
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.