Waldon here, and today's wonderful title comes from Metallica's "Enter Sandman", one of the best song's I've heard in my entire life. :P

So, about yesterday's blog. xD

Yesterday morning I woke up as usual and started getting ready for work. Around 9 20 AM or so, Glad texted me and asked me to do her a favor if I could. I said I might be able to, but I'd need to know what it is, obviously.

I had to be at her workplace for 10 AM...

...to be Santa Claus.

So, 10 AM Friday Morning I was Santa Claus for a bunch of crazy kids. I finished that gig and went back home to finish getting ready.

At 12 I went to work and started my day normally enough. But I was careless for a second, and when I lifted one of the pallets from the detritus pile above my head to move it, some powdered substance that was left inside the wood slats from the last use of the pallet fell out and went into my eye.

I just ignored it. It didn't hurt very much, and I figured it was just sand. So on I went.

But within a few hours my right eye felt like a papercut with bleach in it. >.<

It hurt to open my eye at all, and it itched something fierce. :P I got the stuff in my eye at 12 30 or so, and by 3 30 I'd had enough. I went to the hospital ER.

So, I signed in when I got there, and within 30 minutes I was seated in one of the ER rooms. And then waited for a doctor.

For 3 hours.

Finally, a doctor that wasn't even working at the time was just like "man, he's been here longer than I have." so he helped me out and ordered an eye flush.

That procedure was rather horrific looking, I'll admit. But it wasn't bad! xD

They took a plastic cap that fit over the top of my eye underneath my eyelids with a tube on it which was in turn hooked up to a liter of ice water. :P In total the eyecap was about an inch or so wide and stuck about 3 inches out from my head. xD

It must have looked horrifying to anybody walking by. Especially when I started moving my eye and making the plastic thingy dance. :P I think the nurse was in disbelief.

She kept telling me it was going to be alright, and it'll be over soon. And I was just like. "Coo'. Don't worry about it." And then she'd just stare at me and say the stuff again.

Like, I had my arms behind my head and stuff. It was actually pretty comfortable once you get past the liter of cold water in my eyeball.

Yeah. Maybe not so comfortable. xD

When the thing was taken out of my eye I had an audience of two looking on in horrified fascination. One male and one female nurse. They were expecting me to freak out or something I guess. I'd assume they're used to more radical ER patients. Well. The plastic eyeball tower must have caused a little jaw-droppage, but whatever. :P

Then, we finished up that whole ordeal and then I had to fill out paperwork. T_T (Form 6, for all of you curious Canadians.)



Leave a Reply.