… Don’t ask about the title tonight. I’m in too much pain to explain it. I will, however, say that I said this to my Nan, who is a retired nurse. Today was okay though. I went out to lunch with Nikita and Lianna because I thought that Junior wasn’t going to be there for lunch today because of drama workshops. Turns out that he WAS in school for dinner. He didn’t come, and I felt bad, but I went anyway. All is well though.

Oh yes! Last night was Junior/ the drama troupe’s play. It was incredible! I quite liked it. Very proud of him. (^^)

Okay, my apologies, but tonight is going to be a filler blog. I have to study for a History test, so I’m just going to give you guys my English monologue to read. Mr. Crane gave it 100% so I’d assume it’s half decent. Junior also got 100% on his. Go us! So, be nice. Here it is:

“Love me? Ismene does not truly love me, nor does she love our brother. The same blood runs through our veins and yet she ignores my cry for help in honoring our slain kin by allowing him a proper burial. Who is she to deny this request? Polynices was as much a Theban man as Eteocles and thus deserves the same burial. Left unburied, my brother shall never be fully at rest. His soul will never travel into the afterlife; his physical being will be ridiculed by all, mauled by wild dogs; his flesh will rot, and crows will eat his entrails. Where is the honor in this? Ismene’s fear and womanish ways prove that she is indeed useless. In not helping my enterprise, she is abandoning our family and proving that she does not love us as she says she does. I, for one, love my brother and shall not let the proclamation of a mere mortal man stop me from paying the dead their due.

Creon, the tyrant, issued the edict that nobody shall bury the body of the “traitor,” Polynices, for he had led an army against Thebes. Whilst one brother is laid to rest with respect the other is subjected to public humiliation and hopeless wandering for all of eternity. Creon does not hear the whisperings of the people; he does not hear the frightened murmurings of disapproval among the commoners regarding his laws. The people believe, as do I, that his law against the burial of my brother is unjust but they are too afraid of his might to contradict him. Creon believes that his law is all-powerful. What he neglects to acknowledge is that he is not as powerful as he thinks he is, for he is but a mortal. He has no right to control the afterlife of Polynices – that is the will of the Gods. By not allowing his burial, Creon is changing his fate. I must restore his soul to the correct path by allowing a proper ceremony to be held for the body of my brother. If I must do this by myself, without the help of my incompetent sister, then I shall.

Oh, but what of Haemon, my betrothed? What shall become of him once I have openly defied his father’s law? Will he be supportive of my cause, or will he take the side of his oppressive father? No… I mustn’t think of that for now.

Hate me not for what I am about to do, for I do it out of love for my fallen brother and out of respect for the Gods. Despite Creon’s unjust rules and his lack of respect for the dead, and my sister’s unsupportive existence, I must carry on with my endeavor whether I am killed, banished, or otherwise.”

Like I said, PLEASE be nice. I’m not great at English. I hope someone enjoyed reading it! By the way, it’s from the point of view of Antigone.

Good night all! DON’T TALK TO STRANGERS.

-Bre :)

P.S. I did my speech! It went well. Mr. Crane said I got in the 80s! :D




Leave a Reply.