Waldon here, and I'd like to offer my sincerest apologies, I forgot the blog last night, and there was no good reason why. I'm so, so sorry.

First things first, the title. The epic title above was performed by Manowar, it's a song called "Heart of Steel". Their music is absolutely astounding, very inspiring. All about strength of character and your own convictions. What good is a belief if you're unwilling to stand up for it? If you're not convinced that what you believe in is right, why do it? They preach companionship and bonds between people. I've never met such a close knit group of people as metalheads. Sure, they all have tastes and likes, but I've noticed that where most raves and dance halls play techno and hiphop, that it lets people get lost in anonymity in the crowds and lights. But at rock performances, metal halls, thrash and mosh pits, the crowds love each other. Mostly.

In a mosh pit, it seems like it's mindless violence, but as soon as the thrash is over, the wall of death is broken on itself, the very people that knocked you over and broke your nose will be the people to help you up, give you a towel and hold you up to rock out some more to the sound.

If that isn't camaraderie, I don't know what is. :P

On the topic of music, today I listened to "Personal Jesus" as done by Johnny Cash. Great song, in all of its incarnations. But it got me thinking about what people think of God. So many people are too eager to say outright that God is fake. There is no God. There's too much suffering for God to exist if he really loved us.

Why can't you see God? To me, God isn't some all powerful figure, but an idea.

In my own eyes there's proof of God all around us. God is in everything. God is the sun shining bright every morning, God is the dew that falls off the cool willow leaves after dawn, God is the bright flowers that open in the noon luminescence, God is the cool shade beneath the trees in the sweltering afternoon, God is the sound of frogsong at dusk, and God is even the lazy sounds of a summer evening after a long day.

"How is that? Where is God, exactly? Everything is made of atom's deep down. We'd know if he was there, we've seen it all. You're wrong."

But to me, that isn't God. God is our faith. God is our belief in a higher entity than ourselves. We all, if I may use this without undue complications, have our own personal Jesus. Maybe you don't believe in Christianity, but you're a follower of Buddhism, or you're a Taoist or Voudoun, even Unitarian or Sikh. Heck, even if you don't believe in any particular entity at all, but in the souls of mankind or in reincarnation, you have your own God.

Now, let me clarify something. I am not per se, a Christian of faith. I'm of no particular religious affiliation. I just believe in what makes sense to me. My God, is everything.

God doesn't have to be some all powerful, omniscient being, despite how the term is classified.

God is faith. God is us. We give the term power by believing in it. So many of us want some guidance in life that we go to various religions looking for direction. This belief in something, anything, is all we want.

What is God? God is what we believe in, what our faith defines. Scientology completely abuses any religious interference in our lives at all, stating that it's ignorant or unimportant to the world as a whole, that we could do away with religion and the problems it causes by adhering to science instead. What does that leave us to believe in? Humanity as a whole needs something to believe in, to live for. Anybody who believes in a God, any God or Gods at all... These people would be completely redundant for a Scientologist to preach to. Why? Because they have conviction. They have faith in their belief. If you believe something you're not going to change your mind because somebody else says that it's stupid. That isn't faith. And God, my friends, is faith.

Your own personal Jesus can be anything. It's something you have faith in. Whether that be a friend on the other side of the phone line, or a symbol in a sacred church that you pray to when your troubles are weighing you down. It's what listens to you, and you know it listens to you completely and understands you.

I know, I still haven't answered the question of why there's suffering in the world if there is God, but I'll do that now.

Because if God solved our problems for us, where would we be as Humanity? Would we have evolved to the point we have today if we didn't have to try to better ourselves? I know what it's like to experience loss, but I can't bring myself to resent God for that loss. I believe that God is everything. God is an idea of perfection that is in everything that we need to try to reach. Something similar to Heaven or Nirvana, if I may say so.

We develop as a species by depending on one another. If we stopped and appreciated what's around us more often, looked and saw God, if I may say so, maybe we wouldn't be so quick to jeer or attack beliefs and individuals.

Now, back to Manowar, they preach about standing strong with your ideals. That is what anybody who believes in something should do. They should stand strong with their ideals in the face of public ridicule, but... Don't be ignorant.

So many people assume that it's okay to make fun or humiliate other groups for what they believe in when it differs from what they believe. I'm not saying that. I'm saying that we should all be respectful of the beliefs in the world. We're all looking for guidance. I've found my inner peace and I hope you all can too. Please people, think about what I've said here. Everybody has their own Personal Jesus, their own Buddha or Ganeesh, or any other God or personal figure they rely on when they're feeling vulnerable or sad, faith is the cornerstone of existence.

So let the world believe what they want to believe, and appreciate the world around us while we have it. The end of our lives could be in 90 years, or a few hours, let your own inner peace find you without fear before you go. God is real my friends, and although you may not believe in God the all mighty, God is everywhere, and hopefully you all appreciate that. Let peace follow your footsteps in life, and let your fellow man and woman appreciate your own God and existence with you.

Come see me sometime, I'll try to show you how I See.

Good night all, hopefully I've given you something to think about. :)
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.