Waldon here, and I'd like to take a minute to reflect on how I view Christmas. I'd like to point out, right from the start, that I don't view Christmas as a commercial holiday, I think of it as a state of mind.

 If we stopped viewing Christmas as the time of the year that we buy presents for people, and start thinking of it as the time of the year that we can spread some love and joy, I think more people would see the day as I do. Maybe I should explain it with an example. . .

This Christmas, my uncle was put into Rehab for alcohol addiction. He could hardly function. His life was falling down around his ears. We had to make an intervention. Within a few weeks, he had been flown out to the economic sector of our province to get help. Obviously he couldn't work while he was in rehab, so he lost money for food and housing. We all had to pitch in and get him applied for grants and services. This was the 3rd time we had to step in like this, we were all worried.

When Christmas came around, he was home with us, he was laughing and jolly. He was with his children whom wouldn't talk to him for years because of his problems. But he got gifts from all of his family, he received money, food, clothing, photos, everything he needed. He's not done getting himself fixed and back into shape. . . but I think that he knowing that his family was there for him, his friends as well, will help him, strengthen his steps so to speak, to finally reach the goal of abstinence from alcohol.

So what is Christmas? Christmas is a time for us all to forget our troubles and worries. To hold out our arms to each other and maybe sing a little? :P

Maybe what I'm just trying to say, is that we could all take a step back from what we thought we were doing with the Holiday, and see it for what it SHOULD be. Cheer and love, not money and gratification, yeah?

I think I'm rambling. Am I rambling? Oh well. This is your almost compulsory "Christmas-is-Love" seminar from myself. xD But unlike the other blogs out there, I mean it. :P

Good night everybody, I hope your Christmas was as good as mine!
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.