Waldon here, and tonight I've got a little bit of free time, so I thought I'd ask something new; What did you all think you would be when you grew up? I don't really need an answer, but just think about it.

When I was young, I was just like everybody else. I wanted to be an astronaut. :P I spent hours thinking about how cool it would be in space! But then I really got into the whole fantasy genre. Yeah, Knighthood is where it's at. I was dead set to be a knight for a while, no joke.

But, then I thought about how much good a knight could do today. Not much, really. I mean, jousting is awesome. There's no other way to describe it. There is NO problem on earth that can't be solved with a good solid lance. Got a raucous party next door? Joust it. An annoying friend that won't leave you alone? Joust them. Need to find the number of atoms in a 14g sample of Carbon?

Yeah, you guessed it.

But, I thought about it some more, and I came to the conclusion that too many people would take it the wrong way if I started wearing a suit of armor and righting wrongs. Even IF it's totally awesome.

So then I thought about the army. For quite a while the notion had been in my head that I could join the army and start making a difference. I could put my life out for my country, for my friends and family and for everything that I love. I would be able to stand tall and proud, wear the colors with dignity. I wanted to be a foot soldier. I wanted to experience everything face to face, and work my way up through the chain of command, to a position where I would be able to help people all over the world.

I couldn't. Diabetes is too debilitating for that. I'm not eligible to serve. That takes the RCMP,  and the police force out of the options as well. I would never get to serve, I found. It was a depressing day when I heard that.

But, then I thought about it. I can still make a real difference, I just need to do it in a different way. That's when I started thinking deeply about what I wanted. I wanted something that would affect people all over the world, I wanted to help this generation, and generations after, with living. With life. I knew I wasn't smart enough to be a doctor. I haven't got the perseverance to stick with such a long program, or the spine to know I hold a humans life in my hands.

So, I started thinking about the ecosystem. About Life. About Biology. I've always loved animals. Anybody that knows me would know that. I love everything to do with life, and what creates it. What better way to help this world, than to make sure that it's still around for us to love in the future?

My father is a forest fire fighter and a forest ranger. My grandfather is a forestry ranger as well, and a forest fire fighter in his prime. My family has roots in the forest. I want to be a part of studying life, and helping it grow.

What about you?

What do you want?

There is no reason you'll ever have to give up what you want. Just sometimes, you need to change the way you get it. I wanted to help people, and I am. Just not how I thought I would be.

Never let society tell you that what you want to do with yourself is impossible. If you want to be a florist or a painter, or a musician or a mathematician, the only thing stopping you from reaching some sort of conclusion with your goal is your resourcefulness. Maybe you haven't got the dexterity to play guitar? Try working as a Sound Technician. You haven't got the patience for Math? How about trying something with logical parallels? Designing electronics or buildings? Maybe you wont be exactly what you thought you'd be, but you'll still be what you wanted.

So, I suppose my rant is over for the night? Good night all!
-Waldon



Leave a Reply.